This article is from Nov 23, 2020

Dynastic Succession politics rampant in BJP too!

Indian Home Minister Amit Shah arrived in Tamil Nadu on the 21st to lay the foundation stone for various development projects, including the Metro Rail. Speaking at the state function, Amit Shah said, “Some parties are conducting family politics in Tamil Nadu and other parts of the country. People from other states have learned the right lesson against the family and heir politics run by the parties there. A similar lesson will be taught in Tamil Nadu. Succession politics will end with the support of the BJP people. ”

While many have criticized the Home Minister for turning the state event into a political event through his speech, it is through this post that one can know whether the BJP really has successor politics or not. For example we have mentioned that the heirs of some important leaders contested the post and election in which they were members.

Rajnath Singh
Minister of Defence
Pankaj Singh (son)
Vice President, BJP, Uttar Pradesh MLA – Noida.
Chandrakanta Goyal (mother)
member of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from Matunga constituency three times, winning in 1990, 1995, and 1999
Piyush Goyal (son)
Minister of Railways
Minister of Commerce and Industry
Ved Prakash Goyal (father)        Union Minister of shipping from 2001 to 2003.
Debendra Pradhan
Indian politician and the Union Minister of shipping –
2001 to 2003
Dharmendra Pradhan (son)
Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas
Minister of Steel
Gangadhar Fadnavis
served as a member of the Maharashtra Legislative Council from Nagpur
Devendra Fadnavis (son)
Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Vasundhara Raje
National Vice President of Bharatiya Janata Party
Dushyant Singh (son)
four time member of the Lok Sabha of India
Raman Singh
former Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh
Abhishek Singh (son)
member of the 16th Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian Parliament
B. S. Yediyurappa
Chief Minister of Karnataka
B. Y. Raghavendra (son)
member of the 16th Lok Sabha
Gopinath Munde
politician from the state of Maharashtra
Pankaja Munde (daughter)
politician from the state of Maharashtra
Pandurang Pundalik Fundkar
leader of opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Council
Akash Pandurang Fundkar (son)
member of the 13th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Raosaheb Danve
Minister of State Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Santosh Danve (son)
politician from the state of Maharashtra
Anil Shirole
represented Pune constituency in the 16th Lok Sabha from 2014 to 2019
Siddharth Shirole (son)
Member of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Datta Meghe
politician and currently a leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party
Sameer Meghe (son)
member of the 13th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Rupatai Patil Nilangekar
member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) political party
Sambhaji Patil Nilangekar(son)
Member of 13th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Ramsheth Thakur
member of the Peasants and Workers Party of India
Prashant Thakur (son)
2014 Maharashtra Elections as a candidate
Balasaheb Vikhe Patil
member of the 14th Lok Sabha
Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil (son)
politician and a member of Bharatiya Janata Party
Narayan Rane
former Chief Minister of Maharashtra
Nitesh Narayan Rane (son)
politician and a member of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Sunil Rane
member of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly
Datta Rane (son)
former cabinet minister in Government of Maharashtra


Here we have mentioned only for example some of the ministers, leaders and their successors of the BJP regarding the party post. The BJP, which has repeatedly called for an end to family and succession politics from the Nehru family, has appointed Maneka Gandhi and her son Varun Gandhi from the Nehru family. The BJP has made them ministers and given positions to their heirs, claiming that the country should be recovered from a particular family.

Succession politics is not only rooted in the BJP, but is essentially rooted in most national parties like the Congress and state parties like the DMK, AIADMK, BJP and DMDK. Although the BJP presents itself as a party without successor politics, there is ample evidence in contemporary politics that this is not true.


Amit Shah’s speech against hereditary politics in 2020 and the post about heirs of BJP leaders holding party positions is spreading again on social media. We have quoted a few examples of heirs of the BJP leaders earlier.

Rajasthan’s Former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje Scindia’s son Dushyant Singh is MP now. Vasundhara Raje Scindia’s mother Vijaya Raje Scindia belongs to Jana Sangh and is one of the members who built BJP.

Jayant Sinha, son of Yashwant Sinha, who was the External Affairs and Finance Minister in the BJP regime, is an MP now. He was also an associate Minister in the BJP cabinet. It is to be noted that his father Yashwant Sinha left the BJP and joined the Trinamool Congress party.

Poonam Mahajan, daughter of Pramod Mahajan, who was a Minister during the Vajpayee regime, is an MP now. Anurag Thakur, son of Prem Kumar Dhumal, the Former Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, is the Sports Minister now.

Mahant Avaidyanath, a mentor to the current Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, is a former MP and MLA and his close relative.

Vijay Goel, son of Charti Lal Goel, who was the Speaker of the Delhi assembly, was a member of the BJP cabinet during 2017-2019.

Ajay Kumar Malhotra, son of Vijay Kumar Malhotra, who held MP position 5 times and MLA position twice, contested the 2013 parliamentary elections. Former PM Vajpayee’s son-in-law, Anoop Mishra was an MP and MLA. Akash, son of Kailash Vijayvargiya, Former Mayor, Indore, is an MLA now.


BJP has 16 dynast MLAs in Maharashtra — highest among all parties

Please complete the required fields.

Back to top button