Did Ayodhya Ram Temple abandon the BJP? A list of contentious BJP politicians who lost the polls!

The National Democratic Alliance, led by the BJP, has won 292 seats in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The opposition “India” alliance has won 234 seats, and other parties have won 17 seats, according to the results that were released on June 4. Although the National Democratic Alliance has gained 292 seats in this election, some prominent BJP figures, including several Union Ministers from the previous Union Cabinet, have lost.

Furthermore, the election results have directly contradicted the post-election polls for the BJP. The BJP won 62 of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, however, it lost a majority of the seats this time, particularly in Uttar Pradesh, which is thought to be the party’s heartland. And by winning 43 constituencies, the India alliance broke the previous record there.

Did Ayodhya Ram temple abandon the BJP?

Though the leaders of the India Alliance have presented the primary concerns for this election as a lack of employment opportunities, secularism, and constitutional protection, the BJP openly incited religious hatred from the outset by claiming that the Congress is a Muslim party, that the party’s election manifesto is the same as the Muslim League’s, and that if the Congress wins, they will remove Ayodhya Ram.

As a result, the BJP was playing serious politics and using Ayodhya as its primary weapon in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, believing that the temple dedicated to Lord Ram would help the party achieve a tremendous triumph. However, the BJP suffered a crushing defeat in the Faizabad constituency, home of the Ayodhya Ram temple, which left many deeply disappointed. Notably, the BJP was hoping for a hat-trick win in that area.





Samajwadi Party candidate Awadhesh Prasad who contested from Faizabad constituency defeated BJP candidate Lallu Singh by securing 5,54,289 votes. Lallu Singh has been an MP from this constituency since 2014. After the Ram Temple was built in January 2024, the state administration led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) initiated multi-billion crore projects in the Ayodhya region alone. These projects included the provision of a railway station and an airport, among other infrastructure services. However, it is said that the government did not even provide adequate compensation for the land taken from individuals for these projects.

In Faizabad, which has a significant Muslim population as well as Hindus, the government’s move to build a massive mosque at Tannipur, 25 km from Ayodhya, while the construction of the Ayodhya Ram temple has begun, remains a mere prospect.

In this regard, the residents of that block, who ought to favor the Ayodhya Ram temple, have voted with significant opposition.

List of Controversial BJP Leaders Who Faced the Defeat:

Several renowned BJP politicians have been decisively defeated in the latest Lok Sabha elections. These include BJP’s former Union Minister Smriti Irani to Tamil Nadu’s Annamalai.

Smriti Irani lost in Amethi constituency:

The biggest defeat in Uttar Pradesh is seen as the failure of Smriti Irani, the Minister of Women and Child Welfare in the Union Cabinet. She lost to Kishori Lal Sharma of Congress in the Amethi Lok Sabha constituency by a margin of 1,67,196 votes.

Remarkably, Smriti Irani, a candidate in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, emerged victorious over Congress President Rahul Gandhi, a member of parliament from 2004 to 2014, and acquired the role of member of parliament. However, she was unable to hold onto her position of power in this election.

Madhavi Latha’s imaginary arrow towards the mosque:

Despite the Election Commission’s declaration that candidates and political parties are not permitted to run their campaigns based on caste, religion, or any other factor, Madhavi Latha, the BJP candidate from the Hyderabad constituency shot an imaginary arrow at a Masjid on April 18.  At the time, this occurrence generated a great deal of debate. As a result, a case was filed against her under IPC Section 295A.

In this instance, she was defeated by Asaduddin Owaisi, a candidate from Telangana’s Hyderabad constituency, by a margin of 3,38,087 votes.

Controversial Navneet Rana Kaur:

Navneet Rana Kaur, who contested as an independent candidate in Maharashtra’s Amaravati constituency in the last election, after joining the BJP, was given a seat by the BJP in the same constituency.

But during her campaign, she said, “We don’t need 15 minutes to finish you off, we can do it in 15 seconds.” In her contentious May 11 address in Aurangabad, Maharashtra, she stated, “I am not afraid of any ‘Pakistan ki aulaad.’ She further added that “Ayodhya was only a glimpse and that Kashi and Mathura are still left.”

In this case, she was defeated by Amaravati constituency Congress candidate Balwant Baswant Wankhade.

Prajwal Revanna caught in obscene video case:

In coalition with the BJP, Prajwal Revanna, a secular Janata Dal MP, ran in the Karnataka Hassan constituency. He was accused of sexually assaulting multiple women, which led to his latest arrest.

Hassan block has been the stronghold of the Deve Gowda family. Additionally, obscene images and videos of Prajwal Revanna appeared on social media two days following the Hassan seat Lok Sabha poll.

However, Prajwal Revanna lost to Congress candidate Shreyas M. Patel by a margin of 43,588 votes there.

13 failed Union Ministers:

Following Smriti Irani, the Union Joint Minister from Tamil Nadu, L. Murugan, Rajeev Chandrasekhar, who served as the Union Joint Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology, Arjun Munda, the former Chief Minister of Jharkhand and Union Minister for Tribal Affairs, Rajkumar Singh, who served as the Union Minister for Power and New Renewable Energy. Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Ajay Mishra Teni, Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Kailash Choudhary, Union Minister of Heavy Industries Mahendra Nath Pandey, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Union Minister of State for Rural Development of India who contested in Fatehpur, Union Minister of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying Sanjeev Balyan contested from the Kheri constituency. Union Minister of State for External Affairs V. Muraleedharan, Union Minister of State for Education Subhash Sarkar, and Union Minister of State for Home Affairs and Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports Nisith Pramanik, have failed.

Apart from them, the much-awaited star leaders in Tamil Nadu like BJP President Annamalai, former Governor of Telangana and Puducherry Tamilisai Soundararajan, BJP senior leader and former Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan, BJP MLA Nainar Nagendran etc. have also failed..!




Please complete the required fields.

Indu Meenakshi

Indu Meenakshi is a former Microbiologist-turned-journalist, works as a Sub-Editor at YouTurn. She additionally holds Master’s in Management and English Literature. As a fact-checker, her job entails actively dispelling false information found online, exposing fake news, and raising public awareness.
Back to top button