‘Boycott Cadbury’ trends claiming that their products in India are halal certified


Cadbury products are Halal Certified and the Gelatin it uses is derived from Beef!

Cadbury lovers… Are you aware of this?

Twitter Link



‘Boycott Cadbury’ is trending on Twitter recently claiming that the gelatin used in their products is derived from beef. Social media users share that Hindu sentiments were hurt as the products force-feed beef which is against Sanatan dharma and that the people behind it are to be sued. Some of such claims can be seen here, here, here, here, and here.

What is the truth?

With a simple keyword search using words like ‘Cadbury’ ‘halal’ ‘beef’ and ‘India’ on Google, the claim was found to be fake. Below is the list of web pages that resulted from the search.

The viral image is a screenshot of Cadbury’s Australian website which can be seen from some of the claim posts. The content on the webpage is seen with the word ‘Australian’ when compared to the viral image. It says, “Please note, if any of our Australian products contain gelatine in the ingredients, the gelatine we use is halal certified and derived from beef.”

The ‘Cadbury Dairy Milk’ Twitter account responded to a query on ‘Cadbury being halal certified as the gelatin used is derived from beef’ raised by ‘Madhu Purnima Kishwar’ on 18, July 2021. The query tweet has mentioned an image that is currently viral. Cadbury clarified that all the products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian which is mentioned on the wrapper with a green dot symbol.

What does a ‘green dot’ on a package denote?

As per the Food Safety and Standards Regulation, 2020 mentioned on the FSSAI website, packages with vegetarian ingredients are to be marked with green colour filled circle inside a square with a green outline having a diameter as listed in the table given on the document, and packages with non-vegetarian ingredients with brown colour filled triangle inside a brown coloured square as an outline.


In our search, it is evident that the posts claiming that Cadbury products in India are halal certified as the gelatin in them are derived from beef are false. The viral image is known to be from Cadbury’s Australian website. Moreover, Cadbury clarified that all of their products manufactured and sold in India are 100% vegetarian. ‘Boycott Cadbury’ is being trended without knowing the facts.

Please complete the required fields.

Back to top button