In the Lok Sabha election of 2024, not 26 Muslim MPs as claimed, but 24 are elected!

Karimangaj and Bangalore Central are two constituencies that have been erroneously added to the Muslim MP list of winners.


Name of the 26 Muslim candidates who won this Lok Sabha election.

X Link



The NDA government was selected by the electorate in the 18th general Lok Sabha election held in the country. Of the 543 parliamentary seats in the nation, the NDA administration has been able to secure 292 seats.

In this instance, a video including infographics such as the “2024 Lok Sabha Muslim winners” is doing the rounds. Additionally, the video features people from the winning locations—Kairana, Rampur, Sambhal, Saharanpur, Kathihar, Jangipur, Bahrampur, Mursidabad, Baseerhat, Uluberiya, Maldah Dakshin, Shree Nagar, Anantnag Rajouri, Baramulla, Kisanganj, Dhubri, Karimangaj, Bangalore Central, Vatkara, Mallpuram, Ponnani, Laddakh, Lakshwadeep, and Ramanathapuram are all seen with smiles on their faces.

This post is shared with a claim stating, “Name of the 26 Muslim candidates who won this Lok Sabha election.” You can view similar claim posts here and here.

What’s the truth?

Using a pertinent keyword search, such as “names of Muslim leader winners in 2024 election,” we began our investigation. This directed us to an ABP News article. The article was published on June 5, 2024, with the caption, “Yusuf Pathan To Iqra Choudhary: 24 Muslim MPs Who Made It To Lok Sabha.”

The report makes it rather evident that, of the 78 candidates who ran in the elections, only 24 Muslim MPs were selected.

Upon verifying the names and places mentioned in the article, we discovered that Bangalore Central and Karimangaj constituencies were missing from the list. Using this as a guidance, we went to the Election Commission of India’s website to find out who had won in those two places.

Upon examining the Karimangaj constituency on the website, we saw that Hafiz Rashid Ahmed Choudary was defeated and Kripanath Mallah of the BJP emerged victorious. This indicates that the widely shared video is misrepresenting Hafiz Rashid Ahmed Choudary’s victory in the Karimangaj.

Similarly, we looked into Bangalore Central and discovered that PC Mohan of the BJP triumphed over Mansoor Ali Khan of the INC. In other words, false information is being propagated via the viral video, and in reality, PC Mohan won the Bangalore Central.

The aforementioned details make it clear that 24 Muslim MPs were chosen, not 26, as the widely circulated rumor suggests. Moreover, there are no Muslim MPs representing the two abovementioned constituencies.


Therefore, we conclude that the widely circulated rumor that 26 Muslim candidates won the 2024 Lok Sabha election is false and misleading. In actuality, it is 24 MPs, and Bangalore Central and Karimangaj are incorrectly included in the video which doesn’t have Muslim MPs.

Please complete the required fields.

Indu Meenakshi

Indu Meenakshi is a former Microbiologist-turned-journalist, works as a Sub-Editor at YouTurn. She additionally holds Master’s in Management and English Literature. As a fact-checker, her job entails actively dispelling false information found online, exposing fake news, and raising public awareness.
Back to top button